Making Meetings Rock! 🤘🏾 ... whether in-person or online

Some people hate meetings, some people love them. Sometimes they’re great, often they’re not. For any business or project that has more than one person involved they are absolutely essential, but they can also be destructive.

I have personally been part of thousands of meetings in my life, and have organized more than my fair share. I’ve also made a lot of mistakes, have learned a lot of lessons, and I’m still learning.

I wrote this to help you learn from my mistakes, and harness the power of meetings for good, and not let the evil take over. The most important ingredients are:

• Clarity of Purpose
  • Preparation
  • Facilitation
  • Maximizing output/impact

And always our favorite, very critical, and often overlooked step:

• Reflection and continual improvement

CLARITY OF PURPOSE:

Is it clear why you’re having the meeting, and what the specific objectives are? Write that down and share it BEFORE the meeting, preferably in the meeting invitation, so people can (a.) be prepared, (b.) help the meeting be successful, and (c.) know whether they should be in the meeting at all.

PREPARATION TIME = RESPECT:

The process of preparing for a meeting should almost always take longer than the meeting itself, with the goal of making the meeting and process as efficient and effective as possible. This becomes even more important the larger and longer the meeting is, because time is compounded. A 30 minute meeting with 2 people cost 1 hour of time. A one hour meeting with 10 people cost 10 hours of time. Can the meeting be just as effective while be shorter, and with fewer people? Preparation can help.